The Watanabe-ite

My friend John graciously welcomed me to his radio station studio tonight – at the Barstow Station, FM 98 and 99, The Highway Stations (did I get that right, John?). I had such an incredible time – seeing all the stuff, wires like you wouldn’t believe, hearing John do his radio thing live, talking to the man behind the microphone in between songs, ROCKING OUT TO R.E.M.’s STAND, and then digging on the radio show in the car on the way home. I’m telling you, if I wasn’t so happy with where God placed me at The Harvest, I’d reconsider my career and go for a job in radio.

If you haven’t taken the opportunity to, I highly recommend tuning in to FM 98.1 (or 98.3) on the weekdays between midnight and 5am. Even just for a little while, until you hear John do his thing. And if you are ever traveling the 15 and want weather, traffic, etc. you can tune in then too.

I’m so grateful that John welcomed me in tonight. It was so much fun being a fly on the wall at the radio station. Thanks, John.

Jeff and JohnThe Watanabe-ite Magic at work... oooh!See the microphone on the left?  It\'s real.

2 Responses to “The Watanabe-ite”

  1. Mom Says:

    What a great way to spend the evening. I’m glad you had a wonderful time.

  2. John Watanabe Says:

    Hey, Little One–it was a pleasure welcoming you into my radio home.

    To The Little One’s Mom–we both had a wonderful time, and your Little One was well behaved.

    Right now, I’m typing this from my other (part-time) on-air radio home–Salem Communications’ KDAR Christian Radio in Oxnard (also heard ’round the world at KDAR.com). KDAR is the very first radio station ever owned by Salem Communications, which is now the biggest Christian media company in the world.

    As for an earlier entry of yours, Mr. White Face, Black Hands (I guess that makes you the opposite of Al Jolson singing “Mammy” in The Jazz Singer)–I prefer Stater Brothers over WinCo. Stater Brothers’ products are just as good and in some cases cost less, and the Stater store is less crowded (and has a much appreciated Express Line), and just has a cleaner and friendlier atmosphere, in my opinion.

    So there. And now, be aware of a possible flame war between Stater stewards and WinCo wildcats (with The Little One as your mild-mannered moderator)….with tomatoes thrown at each other in a war zone between the stores’ respective departments of produce.

    May The Lord with be youse, and that’s all for now from ringside!
    “Straight Up” John the Watanabe-ite

Leave a Reply

