Church in the park

Yesterday, we did just that… again.  It was awesome, if you ask me.  Sure, it was windy and a little bit cool, but nice just the same.  I confessed to Darla (our church logistics director) this morning that, normally I freak out when circumstances change and service goes differently.  This week, though, I planned ahead and intentionally changed my mind about the whole thing – believing that God would do His work regardless, like He always does.  So I got prepared, got set up, and went through as much of a sound check/rehearsal as we could and got underway.  I let the Holy Spirit do His work without hindrance from me, and the service was incredible.  Jen and I ate lunch afterwards, then I went home to get our dogs to come back and play.  A great day altogether.  And to think, I could have missed it… I needed a change of heart, and God knew it.  So He gave me a little perspective on things and I benefited greatly.

How about you?  Church in the park work for you?  Overall, I mean – apart from the noise and the wind, or the kids playing and the parents chasing them… all things considered, what is your take?

3 Responses to “Church in the park”

  1. Mom Says:

    All in all, I enjoyed it. It was windy and cold, for me, but I had a great time. I can do church in the park.

  2. debbie kelly Says:

    Wind is not my friend. .. lol .. but I like variety, so having church outside was a good thing. But I am so easily distracted that I cannot tell you what the sermon was about except that Pastor Don commented several times on his shorts. Maybe I only remember stupid stuff when I am distracted. But I was impressed with how he handled the distractions. I’m thinking services outside should be geared more around sharing the Gospel in music. If we are going to have church outside, then let’s really make it different and more inviting to those who may be in hearing distance.

  3. Allison Baughman Says:

    Distractions= my kids…sorry, we tried but its hard to keep them contained when they want to play outside! But I agree with Debbie, more music-less talk when outside.

Leave a Reply

