Pecha Kucha (“Chatter”)

Pecha Kucha

Pecha Kucha is a Japanese word that means “chatter.” Pecha Kucha is a 4 year old performance art technique which uses PowerPoint, displaying 20 slides for 20 seconds each. As I understand it, both narration and silence are acceptable while the images are running. The whole “piece” clocks in at 6’40”.

I learned about this in WIRED magazine (courtesy of Brad Rucker) a couple months ago and bookmarked the author’s own personal pecha kucha on my web browser for when I got a moment to study it. Today I did just that and was inspired by it. In fact, I believe I will create one of my own very soon…

Click the link above and share your reactions to this? Is it art? Does it move or inspire you in any way? Is it the material that makes it good, or is it simply the performance medium?

One Response to “Pecha Kucha (“Chatter”)”

  1. Allison Baughman Says:

    I watched it yesterday evening, and I didn’t get why its exciting or new. It just seemed like any normal powerpoint presentation- just without bullets. His vocals didn’t even match up with the slides at the right time. If I hadn’t been told at the beginning that it was something new I wouldn’t have known. I did like the whole idea about empathetic signage tho- makes sense!

Leave a Reply

