How far is too far?

Men’s Lunch (i.e. M.E.A.L./”Pizza Day”) busted wide open today as we spoke about the use of entertainment as it relates to living a holy life.  Specifically, the fantasy genre of such classics like “Lord of the Rings,” “The Hobbit,” “The Chronicles of Narnia,” “Harry Potter,” etc.  The best I could come up with was to offer the truth that God’s nature is one of love and creativity.  And since we are created in His image, we should be loving and creative too.  I wouldn’t mind exploring this through comments, so feel free.

(Interesting side note… I came home to find the latest edition of “Holiness Today Magazine” which asks if John Wesley would use creative mediums like movies in his ministry.  Answer: yes.)

3 Responses to “How far is too far?”

  1. Dan Says:

    I have great difficulty with things that make witches/warlocks look good.

  2. Matty B Says:

    Viva la Dumbledore!!!!
    You know my limit’s prety much out there, so if there’s anything in which a “message” can be heard, I think that there’s some value in there somewhere. It may not be throughout the work, but if God wants to be heard, He will be. Just my take on the whole thing.

  3. Jason Says:

    I think creativity is for those who are okay with creativity. My Theology is not the most spiffy, but in John’s discussion about eating meat, he says it is a sin to make another fall from the grace of God, so the line to me would be if I or another fall from the grace of God because of my “creativitivity.”

    My creativity says that it is interesting to think about the possibilities of having magic at my fingertips (Harry potter style) or the possibilities of being able to affect my environment with my mind (Babylon 5, psi-core style) but they are just creative thoughts. Do hurt the Holy Spirit by pushing the creativity God gave me? I don’t think so.

    In another context, I was discussing the concept of sin as a line. As we all know sin is not an isolated event. There are circumstances that lead up to the event. If I have an affair, I probably was flirting with other women, therefore, flirting with the sin. Does our creativity cross the line of sin – absolutely not, but it could be flirting with sin… depending on our intentions.

Leave a Reply

